21st May 2018

Secretary, **Local Electoral Area Boundary Committee,**Room 1.67, Custom House, **Dublin 1.** D01 W6X0

Re: Galway City Council - Electoral Area Review

A chara,

I wish to make the following submission to the Committee examining the Galway City local electoral area. Following the introduction of S.I. 49 / 2014 – City of Galway Local Electoral Areas Order 2014, the City Council comprised three Electoral Areas, each represented by 6 elected members.

The National Census 2016 results for the Electoral Divisions within the three Electoral Areas, provides the results shows in <u>Table 1</u> attached. This shows that the number of people represented by each elected member varies from 4,666 in the West Area to 4,159 in the Central Area. That's a difference of **12.2%** between electoral areas.

In order to correct this numerical anomaly, and to avoid subdividing Elector Divisions, I recommend that the areas of Taylor's Hill and Claddagh be transferred from the West Area into the Central Area, and likewise transfer one elected member. This will result in the following:

West Area: Population 22,426 for 5 Councillors represents 4,485 each. East Area: Population 26,554, for 6 Councillors represents 4,426 each; Central Area: Population 30,527, for 7 Councillors represents 4,361 each.

This reduces the difference in representation to only **2.8%**, while maintaining the overall elected members at 18 for Galway City Council.

Thomas Heavey, PIIA.

Table 1:

Electoral	Pop 2016	Galway City Council – Administrative Area	
<u>Area</u>	79,504	Electoral Divisions	
Central	4,130	Dangan, Galway City	
Central	4,102	Eyre Square, Galway City	
Central	5,113	Mionlach, Galway City	
Central	1,900	Newcastle, Galway City	
Central	1,466	Nuns Island, Galway City	
Central	3,065	Rahoon, Galway City	
Central	3,265	Toghroinn San Nicoláis, Galway City	
Central	1,914	Shantalla, Galway City	
	24,955	4,159	per Elected Member
East	4,037	An Caisleán Gearr, Galway City	
East	951	Baile an Bhriotaihg, Galway City	
East	13,053	Ballybaan, Galway City	
East	918	Lough Atalia, Galway City	
East	1,793	Mervue, Galway City	
East	2,838	Murroogh, Galway City	
East	1,309	Renmore, Galway City	
East	<u>1,655</u>	Wellpark, Galway City	
	26,554	4,426	per Elected Member
West	15,199	Bearna, Galway City	
West	2,612	Claddagh, Galway City	
West	1,490	Cnoc na Carrach, Galway City	
West	2,084	Rockbarton, Galway City	
West	3,650	Salthill, Galway City	
West	<u>2,960</u>	Taylors Hill, Galway City	
	27,995	4,666	per Elected Member